Boot's Corner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

In the News: Stephen King Responds

Posted by JungleBoot on May 11, 2008

Brit Hume wrote an aricle on May 7, 2008 that included Stephen King’s response to those critical of his statement at the Library of Congress in April.

Mr. King responds, “That a right-wing blog would impugn my patriotism because I said children should learn to read, and could get better jobs by doing so, is beneath contempt. I live in a National Guard town, and I support our troops, but I don’t support either the war or educational policies that limit the options of young men and women to any one career — military or otherwise.”

I’m glad that Mr. King clarified his position.  However, he never apologized for alluding that those who serve in the military are stupid.  What a twit.  Maybe it’s just me, but I figure a man with such a mastery of words would not lack the ability to understand the double meaning in his previous statement.

 

Leave a Reply

 
